The Charity is governed by a team of seven Trustees, four of whom are appointed by Walberswick Parish Council, two co-opted by the Trustees and one ex-officio Trustee provided by the Sole Bay Team Ministry. The current Trustees are shown below.

  Photo of James Darkins   Mr James Darkins (Chairman)  (C) 

First appointed a Charity Trustee in June 2006.  James was born in Ipswich and brought up in Norwich, his father having a shop in Halesworth. He emigrated to New Zealand in the late 1980’s, returning to the UK in 2001, before making Walberswick his home three years later. His association with Walberswick goes back to searching for real ale in the 1970’s. James career has mostly been in property and financial services. His particular interest is in ensuring that the Charity continues to evolve to meet the needs of today’s Village and that it supports diversity and inclusion for all in our community.  


  Richard Leiper KC (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in November 2021.  Richard is a practising barrister who also sits part-time as a Recorder in the Crown Court. He is chair of the Advisory Council to the Litigant in Person Support Strategy and is the former chair of the Employment Law Bar Association. He moved to Walberswick in 2020 with his partner, who has family roots in the village. 


Image of David Pelly  David Pelly (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in May 2022.  David and his family have been frequent visitors to Walberswick for over 20 years and finally moved to the village in 2018. With a background in finance and management, he currently runs a pension fund for a civil service trade union but plans to retire this year leaving more time for his interests in gardening and nature conservation.


  Revd Canon Simon Pitcher (EO)  

First appointed a Charity Trustee in July 2021.   After a 15 year career on British Rail, including a time as Station Manager Bury St Edmunds, Simon attended Ridley Hall, Cambridge from 2000 to 2002.  Ordained Deacon in 2002 and Priest in 2003 at Wakefield Cathedral. He spent his curacy in Halifax and then as Priest in Charge of Heckmondwike and Liversedge, just outside Dewsbury, from January 2005 until June 2010.  Served as Rural Dean of Birstall between 2007 and 2010, and as Wakefield Diocesan Adviser on the Environment.  Also served as a Diocesan and National Vocations adviser. Moved to Southwold in June 2010 as Team Rector of the Sole Bay Team, and as Rural Dean of Waveney and Blyth between 2011 and 2019 


  Mrs Stephanie Renouf (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in March 2022.   Born and educated in Norwich, Stephanie started her career as a journalist with the former Eastern Counties Newspapers (now Newsquest) based in Lowestoft as its arts writer assigned to cover the newly created Southwold Summer Theatre. A move into PR and running an East Anglian-based Consultancy followed and latterly she worked with Suffolk Community Foundation, Suffolk Agricultural Association as well as a global attractions consultancy, The Lightbox gallery in Woking and the Sainsbury Centre. During her 20 plus years in the village she has chaired the Village Fete and is currently vice-chairman of St Andrew's Church PCC. Her skills set does not include helping out in a kitchen or baking, so please don't ask!


Photo of Hannah Sutton  Mrs Hannah Sutton (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in January 2015.  Hannah was brought up in Halesworth and moved to Walberswick in 2008 She and her husband Lee live in Church Lane and have two daughters. After an initial career in caring, Hannah became a Teaching assistant at Yoxford & Peasenhall Primary School in 2019. She first became a Trustee in 2015 and has taken a lead role in organising Village events for children, including the children's club, Christmas party, summer sports and performing arts. Hannah's passion is ensuring that Walberswick remains a safe and welcoming place for families to enjoy.  


  Ms Vanessa Tucker (C)

Vanessa moved to the village in December 2013 following a career in education in the North West.  The move was precipitated by the purchase of a Vineyard in Wissett which Vanessa and her partner ran as a sustainable venture for 8 years.  Sustainability has long been her passion and she is keen to help Walberswick steward its amazing environment.

N = Nominative Trustee appointed by Walberswick Parish Council C = Co-optative Trustee appointed by the Trustees EO = Ex-Officio Trustee

Any questions or comments about the work of the Charity will be welcomed by the Trustees. 
For all matters, please contact the Clerk, Matthew Wetmore, using our Contact Form or email:
Postal Address: WCLC, PO Box 73, Halesworth IP19 0AU


More about the work and operations of the Charity can be found in the Policies & Reports section